Cocoa Beach Dolphin Tour Prices And What Each Ticket Covers

A dolphin boat tour in Cocoa Beach starts at $38.99 per person, and the most expensive kayak paddle on the roster tops out at $100. That spread is real, and it maps to group size, boat type and time on the water. Here is what every listed tour charges, what the ticket covers, and where the free alternatives sit.

A pontoon boat cruising calm lagoon water near Cocoa Beach at midday

Short answer

Cocoa Beach dolphin tours run from $38.99 per person for a 2-hour boat tour to $374.50 for a private 2-hour charter for the whole boat. Kayak and paddleboard tours sit between $50 and $100 per person. Most listings include gear and a guide, and most, but not all, allow free cancellation.

What Does A Dolphin Tour In Cocoa Beach Cost?

A dolphin tour in Cocoa Beach costs between $38.99 and $100 per person on the current roster, with one private exception priced at $374.50 for the whole boat. Boat tours cluster at the low end, from $38.99 to $65 per person, while kayak and paddleboard tours run from $50 to $100. Every price in this guide comes from the live listings, not from operator websites, so child fares and seasonal shifts belong on the listing.

Cocoa Beach sits on the Banana River lagoon system, one of the most dependable places on Florida's Space Coast to encounter wild bottlenose dolphins from the water. That dependability has produced a crowded market: this site tracks 20 bookable tours across two broad formats, powered boats and human-powered paddles, and the price ladder between them is wide enough that picking wrong can double or halve what you pay for essentially the same two hours on the water.

The headline number most visitors see first is the featured tour, the 2-hour Dolphin and Wildlife Boat, listed from $38.99 per person with a 4.8 rating from 1,211 reviews. It is the cheapest way onto the water with a guide in Cocoa Beach, and it anchors the low end of the entire roster. At the other end, the private 2-hour dolphin sightseeing charter is priced at $374.50 per group, which works out very differently depending on whether two people or eight split it.

The purpose of this guide is to line up every listed price side by side, compare the time each ticket buys, show exactly what each ticket includes and excludes, and measure the whole ladder against the free shore-based viewing options in the same town. For a broader walk through the formats themselves, the dolphin tour how-to-choose guide covers group sizes and boat styles, and the homepage comparison on Dolphin Tours Cocoa Beach runs a three-question picker if you want a quick match instead of a deep read.

Every Boat Tour Price On The Roster

Seven powered boat tours operate from Cocoa Beach and Merritt Island, priced from $38.99 to $65 per person, plus one private charter at $374.50 per group. The two cheapest options, the featured dolphin and wildlife boat and the sunset boat, both cost from $38.99 for two hours. The priciest per-person boat is the tiki sightseeing cruise at $65, which trades seats for a floating-bar atmosphere.

The powered-boat category is where most first-time visitors land, and the price ladder is tighter than it first looks. The featured 2-hour Dolphin and Wildlife Boat, a 49-passenger trip from the dock at Sunset Waterfront Bar and Grill on West Cocoa Beach Causeway, is listed from $38.99 per person and carries a 4.8 rating from 1,211 reviews, the largest review pool on the roster. Its near twin, the Sunset Dolphin and Wildlife Boat, uses the same dock, the same 49-passenger cap and the same from-price of $38.99, but sails into the evening and holds a 4.9 rating from 341 reviews.

A covered pontoon boat with rows of seats moving across a calm lagoon

Between those bookends sit five distinct products. The Banana River, Canaveral Locks and Port cruise from Space Coast River Tours runs $40 per person for two hours from Kelly Park East and adds locks, port industry and a working-waterway angle to the dolphin watching. The 2.5-hour Eco Boat Activity costs from $42.80, holds a perfect 5.0 rating from 309 reviews, and is the only boat on the roster with no free cancellation on the listing. The small-group Dolphin Adventure Sail, capped at six guests, is listed from $50.85 with a 4.9 rating from 235 reviews. Dolphin Family Tours' small-group eco boat carries a 4.8 rating from 100 reviews at $63 per person. The tiki sightseeing cruise from Cruise Cocoa rounds it out at $65 per person with a 4.7 rating from 69 reviews.

Boat tour From price Length Group max Rating
Dolphin and Wildlife Boat (featured) $38.99 per person 2 hours 49 4.8 from 1,211 reviews
Sunset Dolphin and Wildlife Boat $38.99 per person 2 hours 49 4.9 from 341 reviews
Banana River, Canaveral Locks and Port $40 per person 2 hours not stated 4.8 from 103 reviews
Dolphin and Wildlife Eco Activity $42.80 per person 2.5 hours 36 5.0 from 309 reviews
Dolphin Adventure Sail $50.85 per person 2 hours 6 4.9 from 235 reviews
Small-Group Eco Boat (Dolphin Family Tours) $63 per person 2 hours not stated 4.8 from 100 reviews
Tiki Dolphin Sightseeing (Cruise Cocoa) $65 per person 2 hours not stated 4.7 from 69 reviews
Private 2-Hour Dolphin Sightseeing $374.50 per group 2 hours private boat 4.8 from 46 reviews

If the decision is purely about the lowest ticket for the most standard experience, the featured boat and the sunset boat tie at $38.99, and the tiebreaker is timing rather than money: same dock, same duration, same price, different light. Check the live listing for either one before booking, because departure times shift with the season.

Time On The Water: Which Tour Buys The Most Hours

Not every ticket buys the same amount of water time, and the differences matter as much as the price tags. The two $38.99 pontoons and five other boat tours run 2 hours each, the eco activity stretches to 2.5 hours, and the shortest trips on the roster are the 1.5-hour paddles, the wildlife refuge tour and the clear-bottom kayak, while the bioluminescent paddleboard outing runs 1.75 hours.

Raw ticket prices hide the fact that tours are not all the same length. The wildlife refuge paddle is only 1.5 hours, the bioluminescent kayak and paddleboard adventure is 1.75 hours, and the eco boat stretches to 2.5 hours, so a straight from-price comparison flatters the short tours and penalizes the long ones. The table below pairs every product's listed from-price with its listed duration, so you can judge the trade yourself.

A tour boat passing mangroves on the Banana River near Cocoa Beach
Tour From price Hours on the water
Dolphin and Wildlife Boat $38.99 2
Sunset Dolphin and Wildlife Boat $38.99 2
Locks and Port cruise $40 2
Eco Boat Activity $42.80 2.5
Dolphin Adventure Sail $50.85 2
Small-Group Eco Boat $63 2
Tiki Dolphin Sightseeing $65 2
Mangrove Tunnels kayak $64.82 2
Manatee and Dolphin Kayak (Ramp Road) $50 2
Wildlife Refuge paddle $100 1.5
Private charter (whole boat) $374.50 per group 2

Two findings stand out once the durations sit beside the prices. First, the eco boat activity is the quiet value play on the boat side: its $42.80 ticket buys 2.5 hours, the longest guided trip on the roster, so its extra half hour more than absorbs the few dollars it costs over the $38.99 pontoons. Second, the $100 wildlife refuge paddle is the shortest product on the entire roster at 1.5 hours, so it carries both the highest ticket and the least time; what that premium buys is a group capped at ten inside the Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge, not more hours.

Chart comparing Cocoa Beach dolphin tour prices and hours on the water
The chart shows every listed from-price beside its listed duration, making visible that the 2.5-hour eco boat undercuts the shorter premium tours on time bought per dollar.

The private charter deserves its own arithmetic. At $374.50 for the boat, a couple pays far more per head than any shared tour on the roster. But a family of six splits it to roughly the cost of a tiki seat each for a private two hours, and a full group of eight brings the per-head figure down near the small-group sail's ticket price. The listing pins the meeting point at Cape Crossing Resort and Marina in Merritt Island, and the operator is Cruise Cocoa, the same company behind the tiki cruise. For groups of six or more, the private boat stops being a splurge and starts being the rational pick, a comparison the sunset cruises guide develops for evening bookings specifically.

Kayak And Paddleboard Tour Prices

Kayak and paddleboard dolphin tours in Cocoa Beach cost from $50 to $100 per person, spread across twelve listings. The cheapest is the ecological manatee and dolphin kayak tour at Ramp Road Park at $50; the priciest is the 1.5-hour wildlife refuge paddle at $100. Tandem mangrove tours, clear-bottom kayaks and bioluminescent paddles fill the middle of that band at $51.36 to $75.

The paddle category covers more listings than the boats do, and the price differences track three things: group size, waterway and time of day. The $50 ecological manatee and dolphin kayak tour launches from Ramp Road Park in Cocoa Beach with a 20-paddle cap, a 4.6 rating from 125 reviews, and an unusually generous inclusions list that covers kayaks, paddles, life jackets, dry bags, sunscreen, bug spray and bottled water. At the other end, the $100 wildlife refuge paddle buys access to the Merritt Island refuge area with a group capped at ten and dry bags included.

Single kayaks gliding through a narrow mangrove tunnel

The middle of the band is where most paddlers actually book. The Mangrove Tunnels, Dolphins, Manatee tour, listed from $64.82 with a 5.0 rating from 898 reviews, is the most-reviewed paddle on the roster and includes complimentary photos, free parking, high-back seats and a guide throughout. The dolphin and manatee kayak and SUP adventure at $69.22 lets riders choose between kayak and paddleboard and holds a 4.9 rating from 229 reviews. Three bioluminescent paddles, at $65, $65 and $75, sit in the same band but run at night, a category the bioluminescence kayak tours guide prices and schedules in detail.

Paddle tour From price Length Group max Rating
Ecological Manatee and Dolphin Kayak $50 2 hours 20 4.6 from 125 reviews
Brady Yaks bioluminescent kayak $51.36 1.5 hours varies 4.5 from 167 reviews
Sunset Mangrove kayak $60 2 hours 12 5.0 from 212 reviews
Manatee and Dolphin Kayak, Titusville refuge $55 2 hours 42 4.9 from 231 reviews
Mangrove Tunnels, Dolphins, Manatee $64.82 2 hours 11 5.0 from 898 reviews
Bioluminescent Kayak and Paddleboard $65 1.75 hours 12 4.8 from 216 reviews
Bioluminescent Kayak, Indian River $65 2 hours 9 5.0 from 85 reviews
Bioluminescence Kayak Tour $75 2 hours 42 4.8 from 928 reviews
Clear-Bottom Kayak, Manatees $75 1.5 hours 12 4.9 from 73 reviews
Kayak or SUP, Dolphins, Manatees $69.22 2 hours 20 4.9 from 229 reviews
Wildlife Refuge paddle $100 1.5 hours 10 4.9 from 229 reviews

Note that the two refuge-area paddles priced at $55 and $100 both carry a 4.9 rating from 229 reviews; the $45 difference buys a smaller cap, ten versus 42 paddlers, and a shorter time on the water. Whether that trade is worth it depends on how much you value a near-private group, which is the same logic that separates the $38.99 pontoon from the $50.85 six-person sail on the boat side.

What The Ticket Price Includes And Excludes

Every listing on the roster includes a guide and the basic equipment for its format, but the details differ sharply: the big boats include toilets on board, the eco boat adds rain ponchos and free parking, the sail includes sodas and bottled water, and several kayak tours throw in photos. Common exclusions are gratuities, bottled water on some paddles, and food and drink on the pontoons.

The from-price is only half the cost picture; the other half is what you would otherwise buy or rent yourself. On the boat side, the featured dolphin and wildlife boat and the sunset boat both list toilets on board and exclude sodas, snacks and alcoholic beverages, and neither permits animals. The eco activity boat includes captain and guide, rain ponchos, free parking and a bathroom on the boat. The small-group sail includes sodas and bottled water but excludes alcohol and snacks.

A guide handing a life jacket to a guest beside stacked kayaks at a launch site

On the paddle side the inclusions run longer. The mangrove tunnels tour includes complimentary photos, a guide throughout, free parking, high-back seats, paddles and life jackets. The sunset mangrove kayak matches that list and asks paddlers to apply sunscreen before arrival. The bioluminescence kayak tour includes kayak, paddle, personal flotation device and a professional guide, but excludes gratuities. The clear-bottom and refuge paddles include dry bags but exclude bottled water, so budget a drink accordingly. Florida law treats kayaks and paddleboards as vessels requiring a USCG-approved wearable life jacket per person, worn by children under six, as the FWC paddle regulations page sets out, and every roster paddle supplies them.

Tour Included Excluded
Dolphin and Wildlife Boat Toilets on board Sodas, animals
Sunset Dolphin and Wildlife Boat Toilets on board Snacks, alcohol, sodas, animals
Eco Boat Activity Captain and guide, rain ponchos, free parking, bathroom Sodas
Dolphin Adventure Sail Sodas, bottled water Alcohol, snacks
Mangrove Tunnels kayak Photos, guide, free parking, seats, paddles, life jackets Not stated
Sunset Mangrove kayak Photos, guide, free parking, seats, life jackets Bottled water
Bioluminescence Kayak Tour Kayak, paddle, PFD, professional guide Gratuities
Ecological Manatee and Dolphin Kayak Kayaks, paddles, life jackets, dry bags, sunscreen, bug spray, bottled water Not stated

Gratuities deserve a line of their own. Several kayak listings state plainly that gratuities are not included in the booking price, and none of the boat listings mention tips at all, which is the industry norm rather than a promise. A practical budget line for any two-hour guided tour is to hold back a tip in cash, since the listing price will not cover it.

Child, Infant And Private Charter Pricing

Child and infant fares are never printed on the roster and must be checked on each live listing; the only per-group product is the private 2-hour dolphin sightseeing boat at $374.50 for the whole boat, operated by Cruise Cocoa. No other charter, fishing or dinner-cruise product exists on this roster, so any other private-boat claim you see elsewhere does not correspond to these listings.

Families ask about child pricing more than any other question, and the honest answer is that the listings hold those fares, this site does not quote them, and operator websites sometimes show figures that conflict with the listing prices, so the live listing is the only source to trust. What the roster does state is group caps, and those matter for family planning: the pontoon boats take up to 49 passengers, the eco activity 36, the paddle tours between 9 and 42 depending on the product, and the sail just 6.

The private charter is the one product where the per-group structure changes the math entirely. At $374.50 for two hours from Cape Crossing Resort and Marina, it is the only way to buy out a whole boat on this roster, and its 4.8 rating from 46 reviews is drawn from a pool of charter groups rather than individual travelers. The same operator runs the tiki sightseeing cruise at $65 per person, so a group of six comparing the two is weighing six tiki seats against a flat $374.50 for a boat to themselves, a near-tie that tips private the moment a seventh person joins.

For visitors arriving off a ship, the Port Canaveral cruise day dolphin tour guide works through the timing and transfer costs of fitting a tour into a port day, which is a different budget problem again: the ticket price is fixed, but the shore-time window is not.

Free Shore Viewing: The Zero-Dollar Comparison

Dolphin watching from the shore in Cocoa Beach costs nothing: the Cocoa Beach Pier is free to walk, Lori Wilson Park offers free parking and river-to-ocean access, and the Merritt Island refuge sells a $10 per-vehicle daily pass that covers its drives and ramps. A paid tour buys a guide, proximity on the water and roughly two hours of positioning, not a better class of dolphin.

Every price in this guide buys a service, not the animals. The resident bottlenose dolphins of the Banana River lagoon system, part of an Indian River Lagoon estuarine stock with a best-available abundance estimate of 1,032 animals, swim past free vantage points all day, and the town provides several good ones. The pier at Cocoa Beach is open to the public with free access for walking and sightseeing. Lori Wilson Park on North Atlantic Avenue offers free parking, a 3,155-foot nature boardwalk and dune crossovers, per the Brevard County park directory. On the refuge side, the Merritt Island NWR visit page lists a $10 per-vehicle daily pass that covers Black Point Wildlife Drive and refuge boat ramps, with roads open sunrise to sunset.

A wooden boardwalk and calm lagoon shoreline at a Cocoa Beach park at golden hour
Viewing option Cost What you get
Cocoa Beach Pier walk Free Ocean and nearshore water, pier amenities
Lori Wilson Park Free parking Boardwalk, dune crossovers, beach and lagoon-side access
Merritt Island refuge daily pass $10 per vehicle Black Point Wildlife Drive, ramps, viewing areas
Featured dolphin boat tour From $38.99 per person 2 guided hours on the water, toilets on board
Mangrove tunnels kayak From $64.82 per person 2 guided hours, photos, gear, group of 11 max

The honest framing is that a tour is a positioning purchase. From a boat or a kayak you are inside the lagoon where the dolphins feed, with a captain who knows the regular routes, and the 50-yard minimum approach distance that NOAA viewing guidelines require of watercraft feels different from the water than from a boardwalk. The free options trade that proximity for zero cost and zero schedule, and the free things to do in Cocoa Beach guide maps the full set of them.

Cancellation Rules, Parking And The Extra Costs That Sneak In

Most roster tours allow free cancellation, with one exception: the 2.5-hour eco boat activity carries no free cancellation on its listing, so its $42.80 ticket should be booked only against firm plans. Beyond the ticket, the realistic extras are paid parking at Cocoa Beach city lots, gratuities on the paddle tours, and bottled water on the paddles that exclude it.

The cancellation split is the single most consequential line of fine print on the roster. Every tour except the eco boat activity lists free cancellation, which means a $38.99 pontoon booking is effectively risk-free against a weather change while the $42.80 eco activity is not, an inversion of the value logic from the hours table earlier. Weather calls sit with the operators: thunderstorms on the Space Coast in summer are an afternoon ritual, and operators, not this site, announce holds and rescheduling, a pattern the what to expect guide describes trip by trip.

Parking is the quiet second cost. The City of Cocoa Beach enforces paid parking at beach access points and parks daily from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., per the city's parking program, so a midday tour from the West Cocoa Beach Causeway dock should budget for it; the featured tour mitigates this by meeting 200 feet from the customer lot at 420 W Cocoa Beach Causeway, and several kayak listings state free parking outright. The Hurricane season window, June 1 to November 30, overlaps the peak dolphin tour season, and storm-influenced schedule changes are announced by operators and the city, never assumed.

How To Read These Prices Before You Book

Match the price to the group size and the format, not to the headline: solo travelers and couples get the best value from the $38.99 pontoon boats, groups of six or more should price the $374.50 private charter per head, and paddlers should weigh the $50 to $65 band against the $100 small-group refuge premium. Confirm child fares, departure times and the eco activity's cancellation rule on the live listing before paying.

Three budget patterns hold across the whole roster. First, per-person value concentrates at the bottom of the boat ladder: the featured tour's $38.99 ticket, 4.8 rating from 1,211 reviews and two-hour runtime make it the default choice for anyone without a special requirement. Second, every premium above roughly $50 per person buys something specific and nameable: six seats on a sail, ten paddlers in a refuge, a private boat, a night paddle. Third, the only genuinely awkward price is the one that buys nothing visible, and the hours table above is the tool for spotting it.

Booking lead time matters more in some windows than others, a question the do I need to book in advance post answers in detail. The short version: the small caps of 6, 9, 10 and 11 on the premium tours leave fewer seats than the 49-passenger pontoons, so check the live listing for your date.

The featured boat tour remains the reference point for every comparison on this site, and its listing is the one to check for current times: Check availability before comparing it against anything else.

Common Questions About Cocoa Beach Dolphin Tour Prices

How much does a dolphin tour in Cocoa Beach cost?

Boat tours run from $38.99 to $65 per person, kayak and paddleboard tours from $50 to $100 per person, and the one private charter on the roster is $374.50 for the whole boat for two hours. The cheapest guided option is the featured 2-hour dolphin and wildlife boat at $38.99 per person.

What is the most expensive dolphin tour on the roster?

The private 2-hour dolphin sightseeing charter at $374.50 per group, operated by Cruise Cocoa from Cape Crossing Resort and Marina. Per person, the priciest ticket is the 1.5-hour wildlife refuge paddle at $100, which buys a group capped at ten inside the Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge.

Do Cocoa Beach dolphin tour prices include gear and a guide?

Yes. Every listing includes a guide, and paddle tours include kayak or paddleboard, paddles and life jackets; several also include dry bags, photos or free parking. Boats include toilets on board where the listing says so. Gratuities and bottled water are excluded on several listings, so check the inclusions list before budgeting.

Are child and infant fares cheaper than the listed price?

Child and infant fares are shown on each live listing, and this site never quotes them because operator-website fares can conflict with listing prices. Group caps are stated on the roster: 49 on the pontoon boats, 36 on the eco activity, and between 6 and 42 on the smaller tours and paddles.

Can you watch dolphins in Cocoa Beach for free?

Yes. The Cocoa Beach Pier is free to walk, Lori Wilson Park has free parking and a boardwalk, and Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge charges $10 per vehicle for its daily pass covering wildlife drives and ramps. Tours buy two guided hours on the water with a captain who knows the routes, not a guarantee of sightings, which no tour can offer.

Which dolphin tours have free cancellation?

All roster tours except one: the 2.5-hour eco boat activity at $42.80 carries no free cancellation on its listing. Every other tour, from the $38.99 pontoons to the $374.50 private charter, lists free cancellation, so its ticket is refundable against a change of plans or an operator weather call.